You know, it’s that time again. None of these lists will be in any particular order, nor are they based on anything but pure whim. This is the music that I really, really dug this year.

Albums of 2010*:

  • Caribou: Swim
  • The Tallest Man on Earth: The Wild Hunt
  • Deadmau5: 4×4=12
  • Beach House: Teen Dream
  • Gorillaz: Plastic Beach
  • Midlake: The Courage of Others
  • The Octopus Project: Hexadecagon
  • Band of Horses: Infinite Arms
  • Broken Bells: Broken Bells
  • Yeasayer: Odd Blood

My favorite live shows of the year

  • The Tallest Man on Earth, at Antone’s
  • Beach House, at ACL
  • Big Sam’s Funky Nation, at The Parish
  • Sleigh Bells, during SXSW
  • Autobody, at The Parish, during Free Week and in March
  • T-Bird and the Breaks, at Mohawk during Free Week
  • Deadmau5, at ACL
  • Ratatat, at Stubb’s
  • Neon Indian, at Emo’s
  • Julian Casablancas, at La Zona Rosa

Songs from 2010

  • Fujiya & Miyagi – Sixteen Shades of Black and Blue
  • The Tallest Man on Earth – The King of Spain
  • Owen Pallett – Lewis Takes Off His Shirt
  • Lil Wayne ft. Nicki Minaj – What’s Wrong With Them (Why? Because I study to it.)
  • Beach House – Zebra
  • Discovery – So Insane
  • Florene – Deal With It
  • Teen Daze – 90s Kids (Millionyoung remix)
  • Lil Wayne ft. Eminem – Drop the World (Rebirth)
  • Bassnectar ft. Nelly Furtado – Magical World

Other great music-related happenings in my life this year

  • Seeing “Strange Powers,” the Magnetic Fields documentary (partly filmed in Austin!), with a director Q&A afterward
  • Discovering Blalock’s Indie Rock Playlist
  • Continuing to live in Austin, where I always feel like the music fairy has just visited
  • Leaving behind the Israel tour bus and its five terrible, horrible songs on repeat, and, a month later, getting them out of my head

Of course, this end-of-the-year compilation time is one of my favorites because it makes me revisit a lot of albums I didn’t get to this year that other people loved. I have so much new stuff to listen to for my upcoming road trip!

