Only two finals to go! Part of my distraction technique (to keep me distracted from the fact that I’ve been sitting for like 14 hours a day for far too many weeks on end, not a reasonable thing like preventing me from being distracted, obviously) is to slowly but surely decorate for Christmas!

I learned the power of Christmas decorations when I was studying abroad where the sun goes down at 3:30 p.m. during December. Christmas lights up the night, which is important when night lasts for most of the day, too. Christmas also lights up my little apartment, dreary with the repetition of finals studying. And what better background for Christmas decorating than Christmas music!

My favorites include old standards (Greensleeves, O Holy Night), instrumentals (What.Up. Mannheim Steamroller!), and most of what Pandora turns up on the Christmas Canon station. I tend to leave the poppier stuff to the people shopping at malls I won’t go near again until Christmas is over. I mean, I’m not going to pretend that Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas is You” wasn’t my ringtone for a month my sophomore year of college. But I’ve also been scarred by working retail during the holidays. A lot of really, extremely terrible Christmas music is out there, guys. A. Lot.

Much to the displeasure of my neighbors, I spend much of December belting out the lyrics to Christmas songs I don’t know in my tuneless voice, repeating the words I do know over and over again and skipping over that whole “verse” part of the songs. Could that be why I have a massive sore throat today? What do YOU listen to at Christmastime?

