What do you study to?

Through the years my study music needs have changed as my study patterns change. I have two pretty constant preferences, though. Light, melodic, light-on-words music for when I am reading new material or trying to absorb dense material. Heavy, bass-thumping, rap or dub-step whathaveyou for when I am “working,” applying what I’ve just read or absorbed. Often, the music on my bass-heavy playlists makes me chair-dance as much as my headphones will stretch to allow me, sometimes drawing curious glances from people around me.

For the past two finals studying periods, I’ve noticed a particular tic. I find a few songs and play them in heavy, heavy, heavy rotation. This spring it was Kid Cudi’s Lonely Stoner song and Pursuit of Happiness. Currently, building off an obsession with Lil Wayne (I love approximate 1-2 songs of each album of his), my heavy hitters are

  • What’s Wrong With Them, off Lil Wayne’s I am Not a Human Being. Nicki Minaj’s hook on this song is what keeps me coming back for more, and it prompted to look for more by her, so my second study song is
  • Did it On Em, featuring the most charming of lyrics, including “If I had a dick, I would pull it out and piss on em.”

I’ve played each of those songs at least 50 times in the past week. Is that a lot? Sure seems that way, but I can’t get enough.

