It’s nearly 6 a.m. and I’ve been up for about four and a half hours. I fell asleep at 7:30 p.m., woke up at 1:30 or so, and now I’m just hoping I haven’t totally ruined my weekend with this way-off sleep schedule.

As there is little else to do at 4 a.m., I’ve been downloading new music and trying to organize some of my old music. I’ve really filled this computer up, and need an external hard drive. It runs sooo slowly. I tried to put in some Rosetta Stone time earlier today…yesterday, rather, but it kept freezing.

So, here’s a playlist I made, with careful consideration, to try to help me deal with the cavalcade and roller coaster of emotions that stemmed from I talk I had with my former boyfriend in April. I call it the “Indie Rock Guide to Dealing with Unresolved Feelings”

1. Band of Horses – No One’s Gonna Love You
2. Eels – I’m Going to Stop Pretending I Didn’t Break Your Heart
3. Bob Dylan -It Ain’t Me Babe, covered by Johnny Cash & June Carter
4. Ben Folds ft. Regina Spektor – You Don’t Know Me
5. Bob Dylan – I Threw It all Away (with George Harrison, live in studio)
6. Bill Callahan – Eid Ma Clack Sha
7 . Handsome Furs – What we Had
8. Camera Obscura – You Told a Lie
9. She & Him – I Thought I Saw Your Face
10. Chairlift – Make Your Mind Up
11. Cat Power – Half of You
12. Papercuts – You Can Have What You Want
13. Daniel Johnston – Sweet Heart
14. Willie Nelson – Heartaches of a Fool (covered by Phosphorescent)

Listening to it over and over again has been an unexpected comfort.

I’m in search of some new summer tunes though! Everything has been too slow or wholesome. I need a new MGMT! Seriously, I listened to MGMT for about a month and a half solid last summer without tiring of it. Send me something at least half as captivating, music world!

If you need to dance, may I highly recommend Buraka Som Sistema – Black Diamond (the album). I cannot listen to it and not dance. And not just bob-your-head-and-sway dance, but lose-control-look-ridiculous-feel-awesome dance.

So can we agree, also, that Robin Pecknold has a mesmerizing voice? Fleet Foxes or White Antelope, he can grab my attention.

