Dangerous Muse – The Rejection http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxuYZnlG8Oo

Fischerspooner – The 15th http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0xglCPwqco

I had two Fischerspooner songs in my music library since high school and loved them but at the time had trouble finding the rest of the album to download. I rediscovered the band this summer, especially the album #1. The song The 15th especially, I love. It makes me get up and dance in the morning instead of groaning as I get out of bed.

I discovered Pandora the other week and totally.love.it. Of course I had heard of Pandora but never used it. Now that I’m often in the office at my computer without my iTunes library for much of the day, I finally have a reason to listen. I expected it to be Last.Fm style, where I plug in all my favorite bands and it recommends new ones to me, but I actually like the Pandora system better. You enter a band or song you like, it finds music similar to that. You have different “stations” based on the favorite song. While at first I thought this was annoying, to have so many different stations to choose from instead of one, it’s actually perfect for someone like me, who has a range of musical tastes and for whom the concept of a favorite band is hard to realize because my favorites change from day to day, sometimes from hour to hour.

With all that background out of the way, I set up a fischerspooner station a couple of hours ago and have been totally digging 85 percent of the songs that come out of it. Especially the Dangerous Muse song I posted above.

So enjoy this dance-friendly tunes and go set up your own Pandora station. Then tell me about the badass song or band you discover through it.

